Space Captain is a Brooklyn based psych-soul group signed to UK indie label Tru Thoughts and includes members Maralisa Simmons-Cook (vocalist/lyricist), Alex Pyle (bass and production), Gray Hall (guitar and production), Mike Haldeman (guitar), Joy Morales (keyboard) and Lessie Vonner (trumpet). They have appeared with BADBADNOTGOOD, Ghostface Killah, Nick Hakim, Khruangbin, Palehound, Kendra Morris and more. Lauren Laverne of BBC Radio 6 Music calls them "really interesting...a sound of their own."

Their initial release, Easier / Remedy, a double A-side reissue of two early tracks, received heavy play from Don Letts (BBC 6Music) and new music guru John Kennedy on his XFM X-posure show. In a period of open-minded experimentation via live shows and studio jams, Space Captain have alighted on a progressive fusion of R&B and psychedelic rock with tentacles spinning out into soul, hip hop, electronica and noise. The In Memory EP finds singer/lyricist Maralisa Simmons-Cook exploring darker, more personal subjects with themes of mourning, the life cycle, lightness verses darkness, death and rebirth. In Memory has since seen notable play on Spotify's Fresh Finds Playlist, BBC Radio 6 Music and Bandcamp Weekly. Michael Gonzales (The Wire) wrote, "Space Captain's embrace of beauty is obvious. But it's nice to know they can get ugly when they want to."

The band's debut record All Flowers In Time (October 2017 release) channels seemingly disparate genres into a stirring, progressive proposition laced with stealthily addictive hooks. It has seen support from Indie Shuffle, DJ Mag, Communion Music, The Deli Magazine, Earmilk, Okayplayer and Bandcamp, with the latter stating, "everything is discussed here—the good times and emotional pain, the darkness and spiritual breakthrough.” Following east and west coast regional tours in support of the album, the band has since released a series of acoustic and extended versions including “Cells (Extended),” “Hours (Extended),” and “Flood (Alt. Version),” “Flood” seeing frequent radio play from BBC. Space Captain has also released multiple remixes including “Cells” by labelmates The Seshen, “Blue” by labelmate Sly5thAve, “Sycamore” by Son Lux’s Ian Chang and “Loveline” by multi-instrumentalist and producer Jesse Fischer. Their songs have been included on Spotify’s Chillmatic, Sweet Soul Sunday and Mellow Morning playlists. Download or stream All Flowers In Time here.